Wednesday, June 7, 2023
    HomeSportsPCB rests Babar, Rizwan and Shaheen for Afghanistan series

    PCB rests Babar, Rizwan and Shaheen for Afghanistan series

    PCB:Ahead of the announcement of the squad for the T20 series with Afghanistan, Pakistan Cricket Board Management Committee Chairperson Najam Sethi on Monday said that young players performing in the Pakistan Super League (PSL) will be given a chance.

    He announced that the vice-captain of the white ball team, Shadab Khan, will lead the team consisting of 15 players.

    “I might want to praise Shadab Khan on being delegated as the skipper of the Pakistan group for the series against Afghanistan.Shadab Khan has been Pakistan’s vice-captain in white-ball cricket for the past few years and it is logical that he should take charge of the team for the short three-match T20I tour of Sharjah in Babar Azam’s absence,” PCB. The chief said this while addressing a press conference in Lahore along with PCB Selection Committee Chairperson Haroon Rasheed.

    All-rounder Shadab Khan will captain the side which includes four uncapped players including Ehsanullah, Saeem Ayub, Tayyab Tahir and Zaman Khan while Azam Khan, Abdullah Shafiq, Faheem Ashraf and Imad Wasim have been recalled to the squad. .

    As per Sethi, the selectors have rested Babar Azam, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Rizwan and others. Shaheen Shah Afridi Keeping in mind their workload and future series

    “Babar and Rizwan have been practically on the road in the last 15 months, while Fakhar, Haris and Shaheen have been injured,” PCB’s statement said.

    According to the board, Babar played 10 Tests, 12 ODIs, 26 T20Is and 19 PSL matches while Rizwan played eight Tests, 11 ODIs, 25 T20Is and 22 PSLs apart from a few matches in the Bangladesh Premier League. Played matches. PCB said that Harris has showed up in one Test, 10 ODIs, 23 T20Is and 23 PSL matches.

    Meanwhile, Asif Ali, Haider Ali, Mohammad Hasnain and Khushdil Shah have been dropped from the team for the series to be played in Sharjah, UAE from March 24 to 27.

    Najam Sethi added that the board has also appointed Mohammad Yusuf as interim head and batting coach to ensure continuity and short tour of Sharjah.”Yousuf has been with the public group since last year as a batting mentor and is likewise working at the Public Elite Exhibition Community.”

    Aside from Shadab, the players held from the last T20I series incorporate Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Haris, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Naseem Shah and Shaan Masood.

    Talking about the team selection for the upcoming series with Afghanistan, Rashid said: “For the short three-T20I series against Afghanistan, the selection committee has followed the standard rotation policy by resting leading players and It has provided high-performing domestic performers with opportunities to showcase their skills and talents at the international level.”

    He added that this would give the board an opportunity to test the temperament and capabilities of these players and help strengthen its player pool as they prepare for next year’s T20 World Cup in the West Indies and the US. Looking forward to building and developing a strong team.

    “Nonetheless, and in doing as such, we have guaranteed that we pick a group that is major areas of strength for similarly equipped for winning the series against a solid Afghanistan group for whom Sharjah will be a second home. is like,” he added, adding that the team is truly one. “A mixture of youth and experience”.

    Commenting on the exclusion of the team’s star players for the series, Rashid said: “Babar, Fakhar, Haris, Rizwan and Shaheen have been given a break from the short Sharjah tour so that they can be out of competitive cricket to improve their performance. can complete Recover, regroup, re-compose and recharge their batteries and be fully fit for the challenges of the tough and tough 2023-24 season.”

    He congratulated the PSL players who joined the national team after their impressive performance in the domestic circuit. Rashid said that those who have been recalled have shown the ability to excel in the shortest format and provide experience and stability to the team.

    Regarding the uncapped and recalled players, the PCB said that Azam scored 280 runs in nine matches at a strike rate of around 163. Saeem Ayub scored 309 runs at a strike rate of 167 in 10 matches, Tayyab Tahir scored 137 runs at a strike rate of 144 in five matches after scoring a total of 413 runs at a strike rate of 138 in 11 national T20 matches. While Ehsanullah took 20 wickets in 10 matches at an economy rate of 7.36 and Zaman Khan took 12 wickets at an economy rate of 8.68 in 10 matches.

    Meanwhile, Abdullah Shafiq scored 193 runs at a strike rate of 144 in seven PSL matches, Faheem Ashraf scored 210 runs and took seven wickets, while Imad scored 404 runs at a strike rate of 170 and nine at an economy rate of 7.93. Got wickets. .

    Commenting on the injuries of Fakhar and Shaheen, the statement said that both players have shown excellent recovery from knee injuries by playing 10 and 9 PSL matches respectively.

    However, both the star players need more time to complete their rehabilitation to regain full match fitness. Fakhar suffered a knee injury before and during the T20 World Cup, while Shaheen was ruled out for three months after suffering a knee injury in the first Galle Test in July. “I should commend Shadab Khan on being designated as the captain of the Pakistan bunch for the series against Afghanistan.

    Pakistan Squad: Shadab Khan (captain), Abdullah Shafiq, Azam Khan, Faheem Ashraf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Ehsanullah, Imad Wasim, Muhammad Haris, Muhammad Nawaz, Muhammad Wasim Jr., Naseem Shah, Saeem Ayub, Shan Masood, Tayyab Tahir, Zaman Khan.

    Reserve players: Abrar Ahmed, Haseebullah and Osama Mir.



    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Most Popular

    Recent Comments